Appointment of Board members to the Responsible Gambling Fund (RGF), the new distribution body

Press release

21 September 2009

The Responsible Gambling Fund (RGF) is the new body that will distribute the funds raised by the gambling industry to research, education and treatment programmes in support of a national responsible gambling strategy.

Baroness Neuberger, the Chair of the Responsible Gambling Strategy Board (RGSB), has now taken up the post of Interim Chair of RGF, along with three new Board members - John Stoker, Peter Dean and Eleanor Roaf. They will join existing Board members Alan Jamieson and Mark Harris. Professor David Miers, Deputy Chair of RGSB, will also attend RGF Board meetings as an observer. The new appointments strengthen the Board, providing a wide breadth of knowledge of the Third Sector, public health and the gambling industry.Stephen Dunmore has been appointed as Interim Chief Executive of RGF, and will lead a joint, interim team supporting both RGSB and RGF. Recruitment for a permanent Chief Executive is already underway.

Baroness Neuberger commented "The RGF is the distribution body for research, education and treatment and, as such, key to the successful delivery of those elements of a national responsible gambling strategy. I am very pleased to be asked to chair this Board in the setting up phase and to bring together a strong team of individuals with the right insight and knowledge of the industry".


Notes to editors

  1. The Gambling Commission (the Commission) keeps gambling fair and safe for all. It does so by keeping crime out of gambling, by ensuring that gambling is conducted fairly and openly, and by protecting children and vulnerable people from being harmed or exploited by gambling. The Commission also provides independent advice to government on gambling in Britain.
  2. The Commission is responsible for licensing and regulating all gambling in Great Britain other than the National Lottery and spread betting, which are the responsibility of the National Lottery Commission and the Financial Services Authority (FSA) respectively.
  3. The national responsible gambling strategy is coordinated through three bodies:
  • The Responsible Gambling Strategy Board to advise on the research , education and treatment components of the national responsible gambling strategy
  • A single purpose fundraising body (The GREaT Foundation)
  • A distribution body (The Responsible Gambling Fund - RGF).
  1. The interim joint executive team for RGSB/RGF is as follows:
  • Stephen Dunmore – Interim Secretary and Chief Executive
  • a single purpose fundraising body (The GREaT Foundation)
  • a distribution body (the Responsible Gambling Fund- RGF).
  1. John Stoker was previously Director-General of the National Lottery Commission and Chief Charity Commissioner; Eleanor Roaf is a Public Health Consultant, NHS Manchester; Peter Dean was previously Chair of the Gambling Commission.
  2. The Responsible Gambling Fund website is at

Further information

Further information is available from the Commission's website at

You can also contact John Travers on (0121) 230 6700 or e-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .